Maanskyn & Rose Farm and Guest Houses
This farm is situated at the head of the Voorbaat Valley. Run by Rhys and Di Lloyd as a guest lodge, it has a quiet and simple charm that includes horses, organic veggie gardening. Previously known as Draai Om (turn around) because it is at the end of valley, it has a number of vegetation types that are being preserved. In the lowlands there is the succulent karoo while the Klein Swartberg mountains above the farm have mountain fynbos. Two clear-water dams present gentle swimming opportunities while the two valleys (kloofs) descending from the mountains may also be explored for swimming points.
striped, from Latin striatus 'provided with channels or grooves'
From the Greek aspharagos, the name given to the edible Asparagus. A wide-spread genus which is greatly in need of revision. The root-system is an important character in the grouping, but owing to the inadequacy of the existing descriptions and the imperfection of the type specimens, correct identification is often very difficult. The flowering seasons seem to depend very largely on habitat. Some of the spiny species are called Wag-’n-bietjie.
For Federico Cesi (Fridericus Caesius) (1585–1630), Italian scientist, botanist, microscopist and supporter of Galileo. When he was around 17 (1603), he founded the Accademia dei Lincei (academy of the lynx-eyed) in Rome. This first international scientific society existed in great secrecy in its early years. Galileo joined the Accademia in 1611 and donated his microscope to Cesi and the Accademia. After the condemnation of Copernicus, followed by Cesi’s death and Galileo’s condemnation, the Accademia ceased to exist. He was the first person to discover that ferns have spores. The words microscope and telescope were first used by Johannes Faber (1574–1629) in a letter of 13 April 1625 to Duke Federico Cesi (1585–1630).